Kaddar and Wolves

 Does the idea of the nephew of the Emperor of Carthak come from the movie The King and I? Because I was watching that last night and The Emperor of Siam seemed so much like the nephew who later turns into the emperor, I was struck by the resembalance. Also, I was reading the Lion,the Witch and the Wardrobe and the lead wolf of the White Witch’s spies was named Fenrir, just like the werewolf that duke roger enchants too try and kill Alanna. Is they’re any resembalance?

Tammy: I don’t think the idea for Kaddar came from The King and I, though God knows I loved the movie, though I hated the prince. I just needed Ozorne to have an heir, and it couldn’t be a son, because Ozorne was just too paranoid and too toxic to get and stay married. My first image of Kaddar was actually from classic movies set in ancient Egypt, and he looked to me like a brown John Cusak. (This is the early 1990s, when Cusak was a lot younger.) I had a lot of fun with Prince Popinjay, actually. He turned out to be a pretty interesting guy.

As for the wolf, his name was actually Demon Gray. He wasn’t a werewolf, just enchanted. I hadn’t even read THE LION, THE WITCH, AND THE WARDROBE at that point (yep, somehow I missed C.S. Lewis when I was a kid and only read the first book in 2002 or 2003). I think, for what it’s worth, Lewis borrowed his wolf, Fenrir, from Norse mythology, the Fenris wolf, who fights in the last great battle against the gods is is a horrible, destructive creature.

Obviously as I worked more with wolves I stopped treating them in a stereotypical way. But that fight did make a really good scene!

SOURCE: [64221]

