Banjiku · Goddess · Gods and goddesses · Graveyard Hag · Influences · Kyprioth · Mithros

Influences of the Gods and Goddesses

Tammy: Mila is definitely Demeter/Ceres (I tend to go Greek first–it’s kind of my default setting)
The Green Man is the Celtic Green Man
Hakkoi is part Hephaestos, part Wayland Smith (the smith archetype), part Thor
Shurri Firesword is rooted in Athena and Freya, but I branched out from there
Shaihun is like the pre-Islamic Shaitan, god of the desert demons
Lailan is more like Kwan Yin, the Chinese goddess of healing and mercy, adapted for the desert
and yes, Harrier is Horus, whom I love

Mithros started as Mithras of Persia with a spelling re-set, but in looks he resembles James Earl Jones
The Goddess is the classic three-form Goddess: Maiden/Mother/Crone (the Greeks broke her up into Artemis/Demeter/Hecate)
The Graveyard Hag is a combination of Hecate and Baron Samedi, the voodoo god of cemetaries and crossroads (Hecate is also a goddess of crossroads)
Kyprioth is a classic trickster, a combination of Loki, Raven, Coyote, and my friend Bruce Coville

I’ve studied all kinds of mythology over the years, so my gods are drawn from world myth and legend. Even in recent years, when I start to create more independent gods, I base them on some idea drawn from world mythologies.

Tammy: Kidunka is a Banjiku god, the great snake who made the world and all things in it (you don’t want to know from what he made them, trust me), and made the ultimate sacrifice to hold it all together by biting his tail as he wrapped himself around the world. The End of Grazing Time will come, the Banjiku say, when Kidunka’s great enemy, the Fire Ant Queen, will send her soldiers to cover him and climb into his nose and mouth. The great snake will gasp and snap as they bite him, releasing his tail, and the world will fly apart.

SOURCE: [65232]

